Back to All Events

Nanaimo Chamber Orchestra

  • Brechin United Church 1998 Estevan Road Nanaimo, BC, V9S 3Z2 Canada (map)

Under the direction of Karl Rainer the Nanaimo Chamber Orchestra will play 5 works, featuring the return of guest pianist Sarah Hagen, to play 2 of these. The Orchestra alone will play Max Bruch's "Serenade on a Swedish Folk Melody" - written in 6 movements, Carl Nielsen's "Bohemian-Danish Folktune", and Edward Elgar's "Great Malvern Suite", originally written as Vesper Voluntaries Op. 14 for organ and later arranged for string orchestra by Englishman, Steve Jones.

Sarah will team up with the NCO to play Gerald Finzi’s “Eclogue” and will be premiering a piece written for herself and the NCO by Richard Covey. The work, “Esplanade: In Memory of the Seven and the Seven” is based on 1887 Nanaimo Mining Disaster.


Earlier Event: February 11
Lovesick! A solo piano recital
Later Event: March 18
Nanaimo Chamber Orchestra